The Reading Like a Writer Series #4 Do You Really Need the Classics?

Reblogging this as it is a valid point. I myself have never read a classic. When i was in primary school, my favourite teacher read us H.G Wells, War of the Worlds, which i consider the only classic i have come into contact with. Like Sacha i have read shakespeare etc but ive never been a fan of the language used either. To me, the whole ponit in reading is the embroil yourself into a world beyond your wildest dreams and be capativated from the word go. If this is not possible for you with a classic, should you be frowned upon as a writer? You decide…

Sacha Black

Do you need the classics #4

Don’t judge me…I’m about to admit a really dirty secret… I’ve never read a classic.

shocked

There, I said it. I’m not proud of it, but it’s the truth. I know it’s awful, believe me. But I did say no judging. It frustrates me that I’ve never read a classic, but I just can’t. Oh, I’ve tried, more times than I can count. I have picked up Pride and Prejudice about 16 times! The last time, I even got a third of the way through. In fact, I have tried to read dozens. I mean damn, reading a classic is practically on my bucket list I am so determined to finish one.

austen

But I just can’t keep them up. I dislike everything about them. I am not a fan of historical fiction, so that doesn’t help that they are all set in the past, but I also struggle with the language. I know…

View original post 1,090 more words

Leave a Reply

