SLOWLY SLOWLY CATCHY MONKEY

nutmeg monkey

I saw this add for the investment site Nutmeg and it struck home a few thruths that i think i may have forgetton along the path to the kingdom of authors. It is not a sprint, it is a marathon.

While trying to get myself organised to the point where i could possibly be in a position to release my first novel, i have attempted to set myself a word goal every week. Now, this is not to say that i am determined to write 100,00 words no matter what the impact on the story might be, but it gives me something to work towards. It has also enabled me to set a rough release date. Now naturally, in my day to day life, i am a planner, however i have found that when writing my novel i have been slightly ‘winging it’ in terms of where the story takes me. I have written a very loose guide as to who each character is etc and what i want to happen at the end, but the road in between has been a mystery to me until i sit down to let it out of my head. Planning a word count goal every week has it benefits for me, it lets me plan things other than the particulars.

If i go by the slogan on this picture ‘It’s crucial to remember that investing is a long-term game’ I think this refers well to writing. We invest our time and our attention into a piece of work we can get lost in. I think sometimes as a writer, we are so caught up with the urgency to release our work out into the wild that we forget to take the time to make it the best it can be before we do. Sometimes we are so proud of something that we do not leave it be for a while and come back to it with fresh eyes. We do not maybe vet it in the correct way and send it out with silly mistakes. I am guilty of this myself and it is something i am trying very hard to correct.

I think that we have a duty to ourselves and our readers to deliver the very best version of whatever it is we are writing. Once it is out there, you can never take it back. No matter how many edits you make to it. If someone notices that first mistake, there is no taking it back.

As i sit here writing this, i have suddenly become extremely aware that i must vet this piece to within an inch of its life before i let it go.

What kind of numpty would that make me after saying all this, if i sent it out with mistakes 🙂

2 thoughts on “SLOWLY SLOWLY CATCHY MONKEY

Leave a Reply

