Someone kick me in the…

I have had a revelation  of sorts… I think I’m suffering from writers block!

Every day I get up with the intention of adding to my 30,000 words that I have already laid down in the name of my first novel. And every day something seems to distract from my adding anymore.

I love to read about the art of creating fiction. I have numerous advice books including a new one I just added to the collection (Stephen King, On writing) which fill me with an undescribable desire to crack on and finally finishing my debut novel. However, when it comes to actually getting words on paper (or words In Mac as is the case with me), I fall short. I know I am capable of putting words down but I think I am afraid that the words that appear with be ridiculous and not in anyways desirable enough for someone to want to read. And if by some miracle I manage to get them to actually dedicate real life hours of their life to reading my ramblings, that they will despise it so much that the ridicule will begin.

I think I have unconsciously talked myself out of finishing the novel through lack of self belief. I think the gargantuan task of finishing a novel is so firmly routed in my mind that it is blocking any creative just that are crashing down on it from behind.

Maybe i need to establish a few smaller milestones to distract away from the bigger picture. Maybe if I set some smaller goals, before I know it I will be 100,000 words strong and ready to do my second draft. Who knows. All I know right now is that I need to do something. Anything at all, that will break this barrier and let the juices flow.

Maybe i need to stop putting some much pressure on myself.

Let’s see what the week brings.

Happy writing everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

